17 January 2020 Department of Computer Science , Faculty , Systems & Networking , Artificial Intelligence

17 January 2020 – Three new faculty members have joined NUS Computing’s Department of Computer Science:

Dr Boyd Anderson
Dr Anderson officially joined the Department of Computer Science as a Lecturer on 10 December 2019. He was a recipient of the NUS Graduate School for Integrative Sciences and Engineering (NGS) Scholarship, and recently obtained his PhD degree in Integrative Sciences and Engineering.

Before that, Dr Anderson received his Master of Science (Statistics and Operations Research) with Merit and Bachelor of Science (Physics) degrees from the Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand, in 2013 and 2010 respectively.

His research interests are in the areas of Gait Analysis using Embedded Systems, Body Sensor Networks, and the Internet of Things.


Dr Boyd Anderson

Dr Li Jialin
Dr Li joined the Department of Computer Science as an assistant professor on 2 January 2020. He obtained his PhD and Master’s degree in Computer Science and Engineering from the University of Washington, USA, in 2019 and 2014 respectively.

Prior to that, Dr Li received his Bachelor’s degree in Computer Engineering from the University of Michigan, USA, in 2012.

His research focuses on building practical distributed systems with both strong consistency and high performance. In particular, he pioneered a new approach to building distributed systems, by co-designing distributed systems with the data centre network.


Dr Li Jialin

Dr Daren Ler Shan Wen
Dr Ler joined the Department of Computer Science as a Lecturer on 2 January 2020. He obtained his PhD in Engineering, Technology & Applied Science and Bachelor’s degree in Computer Science with 1st Class Honours from the University of Sydney, Australia, in 2009 and 2002 respectively.

His research focuses on machine learning, in particular, automated machine learning or AutoML. More specifically, his research has focused primarily on the algorithm selection problem, which is part of the larger domain of meta-learning.


Dr Daren Ler