Call for Papers

   IWOCA 2018: 29th International Workshop on Combinational Algorithms
National University of Singapore
Singapore, July 16-19, 2018

Conference website
Submission link

Download: IWOCA2018 Call for Papers (PDF)

The series of IWOCA conferences grew out of over 28 years history of the International (since 2007) respectively Australasian (until 2006) Workshops on Combinatorial Algorithms. Previous IWOCA and AWOCA meetings have been held in Australia, Canada, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Indonesia, India, Italy, Japan, South Korea, UK, and the US. Previous IWOCAs can be found at IWOCA will be organized in National University of Singapore, Singapore in 2018. The official webpage for IWOCA2018 can be found at

Submission Guidelines

We solicit high-quality proceedings papers and poster papers in the broad area of combinatorial algorithms. The topics include (but are not restricted to):

  • Complexity Theory
  • Graph Theory & Combinatorics
  • Combinatorial Optimization
  • Cryptography & Information Security
  • Algorithms on Strings & Graphs
  • Graph Drawing & Labelling
  • Computational Algebra & Geometry
  • Computational Biology
  • Probabilistic & Randomised Algorithms
  • Algorithms for Big Data Analytics
  • New Paradigms of Computation

Authors are invited to submit proceedings paper or poster paper.

Proceedings paper cannot exceed 12 single-spaced pages, which includes references, figures, title, authors, affiliations, e-mail addresses, and a short (one paragraph) abstract. The authors are strongly advised to use the LaTeX style file supplied by Springer Verlag for Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Final proceedings papers must be camera-ready in this format. A clearly marked Appendix, which will not count toward the 12 page submission limit, can be included and will be read at the referees’ discretion. 

Poster paper cannot exceed 2 single-spaced pages, which includes references, figures, title, authors, affiliations, e-mail addresses, and a short (one paragraph) abstract.

All submissions have to be made via the EasyChair submission page for the conference at

Papers submitted for review should represent original, previously unpublished work and surveys of important results. At the time the paper is submitted to IWOCA, and for the entire review period, the paper (or essentially the same paper) should not be under review by any other conference with published proceedings or by a scientific journal. At least one author of each accepted paper will be expected to attend the conference and present the paper.

Proceedings and Special issue

Proceedings will be published in Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS) and made available at the Workshop. Authors of selected papers will be invited to submit extended versions of their papers to a special issue of the Journal of Discrete Algorithms (JDA).

Important dates

  • March 15th 2018: Abstract due date
  • March 21st 2018: Proceedings paper due date
  • April 15th 2018: Notification for Proceedings paper
  • April 30th 2018: Camera ready for Proceedings paper
  • April 15th 2018: Poster paper due date
  • May 15th 2018: Notification for Poster paper
  • July 16th – 19th 2018: IWOCA


Steering Committee

  • Charles Colbourn (Arizona State University)
  • Costas Iliopoulos (King's college)
  • Bill Smyth (McMaster University)

Program Committee

  • Donald Adjeroh (West Virginia University)
  • Cristina Bazgan (LAMSADE, Universite Paris-Dauphine)
  • Yeow Meng Chee (Nanyang Technological University)
  • Kwok Pui Choi (National University of Singapore)
  • Charles Colbourn (Arizona State University)
  • Bhaskar Dasgupta (Department of Computer Science, University of Illinois at Chicago)
  • Vlad Estivill-Castro (Griffith University)
  • Gabriele Fici (University di Palermo)
  • Dalibor Froncek (University of Minnesota Duluth)
  • Travis Gagie (Diego Portales University)
  • Serge Gaspers (UNSW Sydney and Data61, CSIRO)
  • Pinar Heggernes (University of Bergen)
  • Wing-Kai Hon (Nation Tsing Hua University)
  • Seok-Hee Hong (University of Sydney, AUSTRALIA)
  • Peter Horak (University of Washington, Tacoma)
  • Costas Iliopoulos (King's College London, co-chair)
  • Jesper Jansson (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University)
  • Ralf Klasing (CNRS and University of Bordeaux)
  • Jan Kratochvil (Charles University)
  • Dieter Kratsch (Universite de Lorraine - Metz)
  • Thierry Lecroq (University of Rouen)
  • Hon-Wai Leong (National University of Singapore, co-chair)
  • Zsuzsanna Liptak (University of Verona)
  • Veli Makinen (Department of Computer Science, University of Helsinki)
  • Martin Milanic (UP IAM and UP FAMNIT, University of Primorska)
  • Lucia Moura (University of Ottawa)
  • Gonzalo Navarro (University of Chile)
  • Yen Kaow Ng (Tunku Abdul Rahman University)
  • Hirotaka Ono (Nagoya University)
  • Patric Ostergard (Aalto University)
  • Vangelis Paschos (LAMSADE, University Paris-Dauphine)
  • Solon Pissis (King's College London)
  • Simon Puglisi (University of Helsinki)
  • M. Sohel Rahman (Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology)
  • Hiroshi Sakamoto (Kyushu Institute of Technology)
  • Jamie Simpson (Curtin University)
  • Michiel Smid (Carleton University)
  • Sagi Snir (University of Haifa)
  • Wing-Kin Sung (Nuational University of Singapore, co-chair)
  • Ryuhei Uehara (Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
  • Ugo Vaccaro (University of Salerno)
  • Lusheng Wang (City University of Hong Kong)
  • Sue Whitesides (University of Victoria)
  • Mingyu Xiao (University of Electronic Science and Technology of China)
  • Christos Zaroliagis (CTI & University of Patras)
  • Louxin Zhang (National University of Singapore)

Organizing committee

  • Siew Foong Ho (NUS, local organization)
  • Hon Wai Leong (NUS)
  • Sing Ing Lim (NUS)
  • Zaini Mohd (NUS)
  • Wing-Kin Sung (NUS)


If you have any questions, please email to