Rahul Jain


Associate Professor

Department of Computer Science

Principal Investigator

Centre for Quantum Technologies (CQT)

National University of Singapore


Rahul_half (2)



Room: S15-04-01 (CQT), COM2-02-02 (CS Dept)

Address: S15-04-01, 3 Science Drive 2, National University of Singapore, Singapore 117543

Phone: +65 6516 8826 (CQT), +65 6516 4705 (CS Dept.)

Email: rahul AT comp dot nus dot edu dot sg


Interests: Information Theory, Quantum Computation, Communication Complexity, Complexity Theory, Cryptography.

Recipient of the Young Researcher Award, National University of Singapore, 2012.

Ph.D. Thesis: Information theoretic problems in computational complexity theory

Recipient of the IBM Distinguished Dissertation Award, 2005.

Recipient of the TAA-Sasken Best Thesis Award, 2005-2006.

Publications, Curriculum Vitae.


            Associate Editor: Journal of Computer and System Sciences (JCSS), May 2016 onwards.

Program Committee: FSTTCS 2017, 2012; QIP 2018, 2016, 2014;  TQC 2017, 2010;  TAMC 2016, 2015 (co-Chair), 2013;  ICALP  2016; STACS 2016;  ISAAC 2014.

Students: (PhD): Naresh B. Goud, Srijita Kundu, Anurag Anshu, Priyanka Mukhopadhyay, Attila Pereszlényi (graduated Jan. 2015), Penghui Yao (graduated Nov. 2013).


1)      CS6234, “Advanced Algorithms”

a.       Jan-Apr, 2016, Course website; Jan-Apr, 2014, Course website;

b.      Jan-Apr, 2013, Course website ; Jan-Apr, 2012, Course website.

2)      CS3230, “Design and Analysis of Algorithms”

a.       Aug-Dec, 2014 (jointly with Prof. Hon-Wai Leong), details in IVLE ;

b.      Aug-Dec, 2012 (jointly with Prof. Bakhadyr Khoussainov ), Course website ;  Aug-Dec, 2011, Course website.

3)      CS3230-R, “Design and Analysis of Algorithms-R”, 2011-2012, Course website.

4)      CS6209, “Topics in Cryptography”, Jan-Apr, 2011. Course website.

5)      CS3231,”Theory of Computation”

a.       Aug-Dec, 2010, Course website ; 

b.      Jan-April, 2010 (jointly with Prof. Sanjay Jain), Course website.

6)      QT5198, Seminar Module on “Quantum Information” offered in CQT, Jan-April 2009. Details in IVLE.

7)      CS6285, “Foundations of Cryptography”, Jan-April, 2009. Course website.

8)      MATH-136, “Linear Algebra”, course offered in University of Waterloo, winter term, 2007. Lecture notes.