The Master of Computing programme is a comprehensive and challenging graduate programme with area specialisations. It encompasses latest research findings, both applied and fundamental. The programme also provides advanced and in-depth knowledge of IT to prepare the students for challenges in IT career.

The programme may be taken full-time or part-time. Most level 5000 courses are conducted in the evenings.

Starting from AY2023/2024, all Singaporeans and Permanent Residents enrolling into the MComp (Specialisation) programme (which is not subsidized by the government) will be automatically extended a 10% tuition fee rebate. NUS alumni, regardless of nationality, will receive a total of 15% rebate.


Structure of Programme

Students admitted to the Master of Computing are required to pass 40 units, and are given the flexibility to complete their programme by selecting one of the below options:

Coursework Option
Students are required to pass ten courses (40 units), with at least five courses (20 units) selected from their specialisation. The remaining five non-specialisation courses (20 units) can be chosen from level 4000 to 6000 courses offered by the School of Computing.

Out of the required maximum ten courses, students are allowed a maximum of two level 4000 courses.

CS Project Option
The project option provides the experience for individual students to work on a significant computing project. It aims to prepare students with sufficient practical and/or research experiences in the computing field. Students who choose to embark on the project option will need to complete eight courses (32 units) offered by the School of Computing, with at least four courses (16 units) from the area of specialisation. Out of the eight courses, students are allowed at most two level 4000 courses (8 units).

CS Dissertation Option
The dissertation option gives individual students the opportunity for independent study and research in the area of their selected specialisation. The dissertation is equivalent to four courses (16 units). Students who opt to take the dissertation will need to complete six courses (24 units) offered by the School of Computing, with at least three courses (12 units) from the area of specialisation. Out of the six courses, students are allowed at most two level 4000 courses (8 units).

Both the project and dissertation will be carried out under the supervision of an academic staff, and the selection of the topic/area will be done in consultation with the advisor in the area of expertise.

Courses Offered in the Specialisation

The details of the pool of courses available are listed in Annex A (CS)


Duration of Programme

The normal candidature periods for full-time and part-time students are 1.5 years and 2.5 years respectively. The maximum candidature is 3 years.



The maximum and minimum workload for part-time candidates per semester are 12 and 4 units respectively. Candidates who are on full-time candidature can have a maximum and minimum workload of 20 and 12 units respectively per semester.

Continuation/Graduation Requirements

The Master of Computing programme uses the Cumulative Average Point (GPA) as a criterion for continuation and graduation. The University sets the minimum standards and specific programmes may implement stricter or additional requirements. For more information on the University’s continuation requirements and duration of the programme, please refer to

In order to graduate from the MComp programme, students are required to fulfil the programme and specialisation requirements, as well as achieve a minimum final GPA of 3.0.