Information Technology (IT)-enabled disruption has now become the new normal. The rapidly changing business and technology landscape is mandating a new set of Information Technology (IT) skills and knowledge for professionals. Singapore is transforming into a Smart Nation, whereby local and global enterprises need a new breed of talented and competent IT professionals to champion, plan, and execute transformational changes in their organisations. This entails constant digital innovation for organisations to maintain their competitiveness and ensure their survival.

The Master of Computing (Information Systems specialisation), in short MComp IS, is specifically designed to prepare you to become the next generation of business and technology leaders who will tackle these challenges head on. It is designed to enhance and update your knowledge and skills by providing you with deep knowledge in key information systems areas, as well as valuable hands-on experiences. The MComp IS degree offers an ideal opportunity for IT professionals to gain advanced knowledge on IT-enabled digital transformation and innovation. A primary objective of the specialisation is to serve as a pathway for IT professionals to transition from software engineer and software developer related roles to IT management and leadership positions. If you are interested in championing innovative yet feasible IT solutions, the MComp IS is just right for you.

The MComp IS programme is distinctive in its strong and holistic emphasis on four key pillars, namely enterprise IT management and transformation, enterprise IT innovation and design, analytics and intelligent systems, and digital entrepreneurship. All courses are taught by leading experts in the field and will offer both state-of-the-art conceptual frameworks to make sense of the complex world of IT-enabled innovation and disruption, as well as the latest practical tools and techniques for hands-on application to real-world problems. The program also offers a research-oriented option where you can work with our world-renowned professors on cutting-edge research projects if you so desire.


Web MIS Digi Transf Inno0719

Course Descriptions

Web MIS Mgmt Transf0719

Web MIS Inno Desg0719

Web MIS Analy Intel Syst0719

Web MIS Dig Entpr0719

What You Could be
Web MIS what0719


Starting from AY2023/2024, all Singaporeans and Permanent Residents enrolling into the MComp (Specialisation) programme (which is not subsidized by the government) will be automatically extended a 10% tuition fee rebate. NUS alumni, regardless of nationality, will receive a total of 15% rebate.


Structure of Programme

Students admitted to the Master of Computing IS program need to pass 40 Units, and are given the flexibility to complete their program by selecting one of the three options below:

Coursework Option

Students need to pass ten courses (40 Units), with at least five courses (20 Units) selected from their specialisation. The remaining five non-specialisation courses (20 Units) can be chosen from level 4000 to 6000 courses offered by the School of Computing.


Out of the required maximum ten courses, students are allowed a maximum of two level 4000 courses.

IS Project Option

The project option provides students the experience of working on a major computing project on individual basis. It aims to provide students with significant practical and/or research experiences in the computing field. Students who choose the project option will need to complete eight courses (32 Units), level 4000 to 6000, offered by the School of Computing, with at least four courses (16 Units) from the area of specialisation. For the eight courses, students are allowed at most two level 4000 courses (8 Units).

IS Dissertation Option

The dissertation option gives individual students the opportunity for independent study and research in the area of their selected specialisation. The dissertation is equivalent to four courses (16 Units). Students who choose to take the dissertation option will need to complete six courses (24 Units), level 4000 to 6000, offered by the School of Computing, with at least three courses (12 Units) from the area of specialisation. For the six courses, students are allowed at most two level 4000 courses (8 Units).


Both the IS project and dissertation will be carried out under the supervision of an academic staff, and the topic/area will be selected in consultation with the advisor in that area of expertise.



Courses Offered in the Specialisation

The details of the pool of courses available are listed in Annex A (IS).


Duration of Programme

The normal candidature periods for full-time and part-time students are 1.5 years and 2.5 years respectively. The maximum candidature is 3 years.



The maximum and minimum workload for part-time candidates per semester are 12 and 4 Units respectively. Candidates who are on full-time candidature can have a maximum and minimum workload of 20 and 12 Units respectively per semester.


Continuation/Graduation Requirements

The Master of Computing programme uses the Grade Point Average (GPA) as a criterion for continuation and graduation. The University sets the minimum standards and specific programmes may implement stricter or additional requirements. For more information on the University’s continuation requirements and duration of the programme, please refer to

In order to graduate from the MComp programme, students are required to fulfil the programme and specialisation requirements, as well as achieve a minimum final GPA of 3.0.