Master of Computing (Infocomm Security Specialisation)

The Master of Computing programme is a comprehensive and challenging graduate programme with area specialisations. It encompasses latest research findings, both applied and fundamental. The programme also provides advanced and in-depth knowledge of IT to prepare the students for challenges in IT career.

The programme may be taken full-time or part-time. Most level 5000 courses are conducted in the evenings.

Structure of Programme

Students enrolled to the Infocomm Security specialisation will complete the MComp programme by selecting one of the following structures:

Option 1 – Infocomm Security Dissertation Option
InfoSec specialisation students under this option are to complete six courses (24 Units), level 4000 to 6000, offered by the School of Computing, with at least three courses from the InfoSec specialisation. A maximum of two level 4000 courses is allowed.

In addition, they will need to complete a project which culminates with a dissertation (16 Units).

Option 2 – Infocomm Security Project Option 
Students will need to complete eight courses (32 Units), level 4000 to 6000, offered by the School of Computing, with at least four courses from the InfoSec specialisation. A maximum of two CS/IS level 4000 courses is allowed.

Students will also complete a one-semester long project (8 Units). Students can undertake an external company/agency-proposed InfoSec projects with a SoC faculty member’s involvement, or a project proposed solely by an SoC faculty member.

Option 3 – Infocomm Security Coursework Option
Students are required to pass ten courses (40 Units), with at least six courses (24 Units) selected from their specialisation. The remaining four non-specialisation courses (16 Units) can be chosen from level 4000 to 6000 courses offered by the School of Computing.

Out of the required maximum ten courses, students are allowed a maximum of two level 4000 courses.

Courses offered in the Specialisation

The details of the pool of courses available are listed in Annex A (InfoSec).

Duration of Programme

The normal candidature periods for full-time and part-time students are 1.5 years and 2.5 years respectively. The maximum candidature is 3 years.


The maximum and minimum workload for part-time candidates per semester are 12 and 4 Units respectively. Candidates who are on full-time candidature can have a maximum and minimum workload of 20 and 12 Units respectively per semester.

Continuation/Graduation Requirements

The Master of Computing programme uses the Grade Point Average (GPA) as a criterion for continuation and graduation. The University sets the minimum standards and specific programmes may implement stricter or additional requirements. For more information on the University’s continuation requirements and duration of the programme, please click here.

In order to graduate from the MComp programme, students are required to fulfil the programme and specialisation requirements, as well as achieve a minimum final GPA of 3.0.