Professor David Rosenblum receives Distinguished Service Award

24 May 2018

24 May 2018 – Professor David Rosenblum was conferred the ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Service Award for his dedicated service and exceptional contributions to the software engineering community.

The award will be presented at the 40th International Conference on Software Engineering (ICSE) 2018 conference, held in Gothenburg, Sweden, from 27 May to 3 June.

Over the last two decades, Professor Rosenblum has provided exceptional service to both the software engineering community and to the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Special Interest Group on Software Engineering (SIGSOFT). He was part of the SIGSOFT Executive Committee for 16 years, and served as chairperson from 2009 to 2012. During that time, he supported a number of key innovations, such as the creation of the SIGSOFT Doctoral Dissertation Award, creating the first SIGSOFT Chapter, and bringing the ACM SIGSOFT International Symposium on Foundations of Software Engineering (FSE) outside of North America and Europe for the first time.

Additionally, Professor Rosenblum served in a number of roles beyond SIGSOFT, such as Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Software Engineering (TSE) from 1998 to 2002, co-program chair of ETAPS International Conference on Fundamental Approaches to Software Engineering (FASE) 2010, and Track Chair on several ICSEs and FSEs. His influence in research has been recognised with two “test-of-time” awards, the inaugural ACM SIGSOFT Impact Paper Award in 2008 and the ICSE Most Influential Paper Award in 2002.

“I was absolutely thrilled to learn that I was selected to receive this award, as it means that I am joining the company of many of the greatest leaders who have influenced and shaped the field of software engineering,” said Professor Rosenblum.

“I am thankful to a number of mentors who served as role models for service and who were instrumental in involving me in a number of important service activities that earned me this award. As well as my PhD graduate, Leticia Duboc, for nominating me for the award,” Professor Rosenblum added.

Trending Posts